RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Topaz Labs Support Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Topaz Labs Support Forum Official support forum for the Topaz line of Photoshop plugins

Topaz simplify beta

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 11-21-2008, 03:17 PM
plugsnpixels's Avatar
plugsnpixels plugsnpixels is offline
RetouchPRO LIVE Guest Artist
Patron
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: LA area
Posts: 2,027
Re: Topaz simplify beta

Steve, I think there are ways to do classic Windows emulation on PCs running Vista, but I don't get that deep into the Dark Side... ;-)

I suggested Adjust because it will help get wide tonal ranges under control in preparation for the application of Simplify. There are other ways of doing this (Photoshop's Shadow/Highlight), but Adjust also gives you the cool HDR and other creative effects so it's well worth having on hand.

BTW, Adjust is free if you buy DeNoise, or you can save $60 on Adjust by itself here.

Vivacity does unique effects in its own right, so you didn't go wrong with it.

Come to think of it, anybody with only Adjust, Vivacity and Simplify (and nothing else besides the host) in their toolkit can perform a very wide range of artistic and enhancement effects!
Reply With Quote top
  #32  
Old 11-21-2008, 07:20 PM
skydog's Avatar
skydog skydog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carolina
Posts: 1,294
Re: Topaz simplify beta

Steve, I really like Adjust and simplicity. I tried Vivacity and it really didn't do much for me and couldn't justify the expense. I find we spend a lot of money on this passion, so comments, feedback, and especially critics are always welcomed.
Reply With Quote top
  #33  
Old 11-21-2008, 08:53 PM
plugsnpixels's Avatar
plugsnpixels plugsnpixels is offline
RetouchPRO LIVE Guest Artist
Patron
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: LA area
Posts: 2,027
Re: Topaz simplify beta

The main thing I do in Vivacity is to overapply the Sharpening option for the unique artistic effects. I've seen tutorials for doing cartoon-like work with the Clean option, so I need to try that next.
Reply With Quote top
  #34  
Old 11-22-2008, 04:13 AM
palms's Avatar
palms palms is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Posts: 5,685
Blog Entries: 30
Re: Topaz simplify beta

beta 2 is now available, at the same link

here

Palms
Reply With Quote top
  #35  
Old 11-22-2008, 08:30 AM
Steve Conway's Avatar
Steve Conway Steve Conway is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,272
Re: Topaz simplify beta

Quote:
Originally Posted by plugsnpixels View Post
Steve, I think there are ways to do classic Windows emulation on PCs running Vista, but I don't get that deep into the Dark Side... ;-)

I suggested Adjust because it will help get wide tonal ranges under control in preparation for the application of Simplify. There are other ways of doing this (Photoshop's Shadow/Highlight), but Adjust also gives you the cool HDR and other creative effects so it's well worth having on hand.

BTW, Adjust is free if you buy DeNoise, or you can save $60 on Adjust by itself here.

Vivacity does unique effects in its own right, so you didn't go wrong with it.

Come to think of it, anybody with only Adjust, Vivacity and Simplify (and nothing else besides the host) in their toolkit can perform a very wide range of artistic and enhancement effects!
Lucis Art does similar things with images that Adjust does, so I haven't gone for it. I appreciate the further info and will think about it.

Thanks.

Steve C.
Reply With Quote top
  #36  
Old 11-22-2008, 08:32 AM
Steve Conway's Avatar
Steve Conway Steve Conway is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,272
Re: Topaz simplify beta

Quote:
Originally Posted by plugsnpixels View Post
The main thing I do in Vivacity is to overapply the Sharpening option for the unique artistic effects. I've seen tutorials for doing cartoon-like work with the Clean option, so I need to try that next.
If you come across the cartoon tutorial I would be interested in having a look at the work flow there.

Steve C.
Reply With Quote top
  #37  
Old 11-22-2008, 08:35 AM
Steve Conway's Avatar
Steve Conway Steve Conway is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,272
Re: Topaz simplify beta

Quote:
Originally Posted by skydog View Post
Steve, I really like Adjust and simplicity. I tried Vivacity and it really didn't do much for me and couldn't justify the expense. I find we spend a lot of money on this passion, so comments, feedback, and especially critics are always welcomed.
I have done some interesting things on forests and trees etc with Vivacity, so I like it especially for that. I have even used it on people, but there you have to tone it down with Buzz or something similar.

Steve C.
Reply With Quote top
  #38  
Old 11-22-2008, 02:50 PM
plugsnpixels's Avatar
plugsnpixels plugsnpixels is offline
RetouchPRO LIVE Guest Artist
Patron
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: LA area
Posts: 2,027
Thumbs up Re: Topaz simplify beta

Oooh, I just spent some time with Vivacity>Clean and I like it even better than the Sharpening option! The effects are similar but easier to achieve and control.

Here are a few examples where I used the same settings and applied them twice.

I have the cartoon tutorial saved as PDF on an external drive or DVD at home, so I'll get that to you in time.

LA and Adjust can be compared, of course, but each does effects the other doesn't. And then there's the price difference if you don't already have LA...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg vivclean1.jpg (94.2 KB, 75 views)
File Type: jpg vivclean2.jpg (69.9 KB, 74 views)
File Type: jpg vivclean3.jpg (88.5 KB, 87 views)
Reply With Quote top
  #39  
Old 11-25-2008, 03:21 AM
palms's Avatar
palms palms is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Posts: 5,685
Blog Entries: 30
Re: Topaz simplify beta

And the beta 3

here


enjoy and dont forget to show some examples

Palms
Reply With Quote top
  #40  
Old 11-25-2008, 04:32 AM
sharynideas's Avatar
sharynideas sharynideas is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 254
Re: Topaz simplify beta

Does anyone know if Topaz simplify will work with either PS elements 5 or PSPXII?
Shari
Reply With Quote top
Reply

  RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Topaz Labs Support Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plug-In: Topaz DeNoise is out (free for Adjust owners) plugsnpixels Software 16 02-21-2009 09:36 PM
Topaz Adjust - What Is It Doing To My Pixels?? MarcoMarc Topaz Labs Support Forum 0 11-10-2008 10:05 AM
Topaz Adjust 2.4 Upgrade Procedure TommyO Topaz Labs Support Forum 1 09-19-2008 08:49 PM
Photoshop CS4 beta DJWaxx Software 2 05-08-2008 08:03 AM
Illustrator - Simplify Stephen A Image Help 3 02-15-2008 07:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2016 Doug Nelson. All Rights Reserved