Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Topaz Labs Support Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Topaz Labs Support Forum Official support forum for the Topaz line of Photoshop plugins

Understanding Topaz Product Line

Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2009, 12:25 AM
Andrew B.'s Avatar
Andrew B. Andrew B. is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 432
Understanding Topaz Product Line

I'm confused by the Topaz Product Line now. I have Vivacity, which contains djpeg, dgpeg2000, clean ycbcr, clean, denoise/eq, enlarge, and sharpen. All of them are version 1.3. I think I got it in 2006.


1. Do I have the latest Vivacity version? Should I upgrade?

2. How do the individual products fit into this? The reason I ask is I see a Clean 2, which is a later version. And Djpeg, but I don't know if it is the same version. And these are tools that are also in Vivacity.

Is there a FAQ that explains all of this? If not, can someone help me?
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-15-2009, 09:42 PM
plugsnpixels's Avatar
plugsnpixels plugsnpixels is offline
RetouchPRO LIVE Guest Artist
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: LA area
Posts: 1,945
Re: Understanding Topaz Product Line

Hi Andrew! I just noticed your message; hope you see the reply.

The Topaz folks have been extremely productive in their output of cool plug-ins, and inevitably this has resulted in some product overlap.

You mention Vivacity. It has pretty much been replaced by Clean, with other newer plug-ins (such as DeJPEG, DeNoise, etc.) specializing in the areas once handled by Vivacity –*but doing a much better job of it (faster, multi-processor aware, etc.).

The best way to know if you have the latest Topaz products (which are sometimes updated quietly) is to periodically download the latest demos, which will recognize your existing license.

Speaking of Topaz, they have a sale going on until 10/1 (details here).
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-07-2009, 07:16 PM
cbrandt cbrandt is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Re: Understanding Topaz Product Line

having trouble buying a product .. do they close their site down after 5pm .... only operate during day time .. even though i.m on net .. on their site .. when i try to buy it.s server not found ......... go to alternate and it DOESN'T recognize coupon .. so why would I buy there ...... any body had trouble buying download ?? i downloaded trial without problem .. so it makes no sense as that came from thier . host .........
Reply With Quote top

  RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Topaz Labs Support Forum

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RetouchPRO LIVE: Product Retouch with Carrie Beene Doug Nelson RetouchPRO LIVE 6 09-01-2009 02:14 AM
Plug-In: Topaz Plug-ins Preset Sharing. jfdpl686 Software 0 07-29-2009 07:11 PM
New to purchase Topaz Bundle - advice? debngar Topaz Labs Support Forum 2 05-07-2009 07:37 AM
How to draw a straight line in PS7 Mike Hallock Photoshop Help 2 01-26-2009 04:16 PM
Topaz Adjust - What Is It Doing To My Pixels?? MarcoMarc Topaz Labs Support Forum 0 11-10-2008 09:05 AM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2016 Doug Nelson. All Rights Reserved