RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art > Turning Portraits into Digital Sketches, Oils, Watercolors
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Turning Portraits into Digital Sketches, Oils, Watercolors Thinking about expanding beyond your traditional portrait and/or restoration, retouching and colorizing black and white image services? Find out what others are doing and how they are doing it.

Hard copy printing- Resolution question

Old 10-04-2008, 09:59 PM

Hard copy printing- Resolution question

Hi,

I'm new to photo-based art but have been using photoshop for various things since about version 5.5.

I'd like to do an artistic portrait, to give as a Christmas present to each of my 3 grown children, using a scanned photograph from a childhood snapshot. The big challenge here is that I want to print it out onto good quality watercolour paper in A4 or A3 size and then add additional detail using pastel, or aquarelle pencil and a wet brush.

Any suggestions or helpful tips on resolution or sizing within Photoshop?

If I post a hyperlink to the original scans of the photos I'd like to use, can you please give me a nudge (or helpful shove) in the right direction as to what's possible? I have access to a variety of printers ( I have a computer shop) so if you have a had great success with a particular printer for artistic photo media I'd love the heads up.

Cheers,
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-04-2008, 10:15 PM

Re: Hard copy printing- Resolution question

Hi Artiste,
I have not printed to simulate watercolors. But, I have spoken to those that have. What I recall is that the resolutions are much lower than you might expect, especially if you do not regularly print your own photographs, etc. Typically, 200 dpi is fine, 300 dpi is on the high end. Also, much depends on the actual inks, paper and their interaction. I'm sure there are many here that have done this and will elaborate for you.