RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art > Turning Portraits into Digital Sketches, Oils, Watercolors
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Turning Portraits into Digital Sketches, Oils, Watercolors Thinking about expanding beyond your traditional portrait and/or restoration, retouching and colorizing black and white image services? Find out what others are doing and how they are doing it.

where does a total beginner start?

Old 06-19-2009, 09:54 AM

where does a total beginner start?

this is amazing

I have Painter x.1 and pspx2 and a tablet

where in the world do I start?

something not to complicated but something where I can get some results?

thanks
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-19-2009, 12:26 PM

Re: where does a total beginner start?

Have a tablet? try placing photos under the tablet cover - trace the main lines of the subject.
Add a layer then begin matching colors of the subject.
The above is one way to begin "loosening" your tablet drawing skills and getting comfortable using a tablet.

Search for royalty free stock images (people, places, etc) and after loading an image, decide on changing something -- if the image is of people/person, go for changing eye color; re-shape their eyebrows or the shape of their lips.
When you decide to make a particular change, come here and search the tutorial section to see if there exists a tutorial for the change you are attempting and then practice the steps until you feel you can recall and do them consistently.

As you become more comfortable doing one particular type of change[retouch] go on to a another -- then try to combine these changes on one image (eyebrow, nose and lip reshape).

As you go, you can always post some of your work and request suggestions - you may be directed to existing tutorials or you may be regaled with all the steps explaining how to achieve a given result.