RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Anyone else struggling to find work?

Old 04-17-2005, 08:15 PM

Unhappy Anyone else struggling to find work?

Hi everyone. I just joined this group and find the threads so informative. I have been a professional retoucher for 22 years, first working in a photo studio as the "house retoucher", graduating to working on my own. Up until this year, I was extremely busy. I dealt mostly with professional wedding photographers and a local processing lab. Even with things going "digital", I still had a steady flow of "traditional retouching work", doing everything from enhancements,restorations and oil paintings. In addition to the traditional work, I also began offering "digital retouching", knowing that is where everything is going. The problem is that it seems far too many professional photographers are doing this work for themselves, even customers I have had for well over a decade. Many local labs have closed their doors because they can't keep up with the big chain processing labs, hence another blow to my business. My prices have always been extremely fair and my reputation as a top notched retoucher has been well known. I'm feeling very discouraged these days, looking for another part time job. I never thought I would see the day my phone would sit silent and I would pray for work to come in. What has happened out there? Any other experienced freelancer finding the market drying up? My customers (professional photographers) tell me that their clients aren't spending much money on wedding photography any more because of so many people having relatives with digital cameras doing the work. I need ideas to market myself. Please help. I don't want to lose something that has been a part of me for so long.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-17-2005, 10:09 PM