RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Getting things going

Old 07-31-2005, 02:55 PM

Getting things going

I'm struggling to get my business started. By "struggling", I mean that each day I say to my wife, "I need to find some customers".

In my other life I'm a commercial pilot. Recently I went up for a photo shoot of my neighborhood. The sky was a perfect blue and I managed to take some beautiful shots while carefully holding my camera out in the slipstream. 3.2 megapixels was enough to create some stunning 5x7 prints, and so I thought I might offer these prints out to neighbors for free, including my business card (as a method of advertising). My wife thinks I should sell the prints for $5.00 or $10.00 each.

It sounds like there is a lot of "running around" involved with photo enhancement/restoration. I might be best to focus my advertising on my neighborhood, which is why I like this idea so much. Part of me thinks I shouldn't do it in my own neighborhood.

Ken
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-31-2005, 03:59 PM

If you have acess to get up there and shoot on a regular basis, photograph buisnesses, estates, farms, etc etc...and offer them framed prints.

There is a guy in my town (small town) that does this and makes a pretty decent living from it.

Just a thought.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-31-2005, 05:38 PM

That market our here likes at least and 8x10, but really prefers at least an 11x14 and sometimes a 16x20. To really show the fine detail (which most of the customers like to see) I would think a bigger camera is going to be needed.

One thing I have noticed is that you do not cut off a corner of the property! Even a foot or so can kill the sale, even if the rest of the 80 acres is there!