RetouchPRO

Welcome to RetouchPRO, the web community for retouchers.

You are currently viewing as an unregistered guest which gives you limited access. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join RetouchPRO today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. If you've forgotten your password, click here.

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-06-2006, 04:33 PM
Doug Nelson's Avatar
Janitor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,870
Blog Entries: 20
Retouching Scam

http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/...0703910100.htm

I'm posting this in Work/Jobs because I feel it's good business practice to never, never, never, never send a company money before they'll hire you.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:11 PM
Ed_L's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: northwest Indiana, about 45 minutes from Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,821
That was a slick plan that worked on quite a few. It wouldn't surprise me if it was thought of by the same people who want you to go to paypal.com or somewhere else to edit private information by clicking on a link they provide. The links take you to a webpage that sure looks legitimate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2006, 02:28 AM
Gary Richardson's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 2,668
To Create a small programme that helps you check the validity of a Web Address, try the following. (Sorry this is for Firefox, can't remember how to do it for IE).

Click on Bookmarks to open your Bookmarks side bar. Now right click on Bookmarks Toolbar Folder, and select New Bookmark to open the dialogue box.

Type Valid Address into the Name: field.

Now into the Location: field, type the following

javascript:alert(%22The real URL is:%22 + location.protocol + %22//%22 + location.hostname + %22/%22 + %22\nThe address URL is: %22 + location.href + %22\n%22 + %22If the server names do not match, this may be a spoof.%22)

Check Load this Bookmark in the Sidebar, then select OK.

Now you will have a bookmark entitled Valid Adress, in your Bookmarks Toolbar Folder.

Now, if you use a link to go to a site, you can check if the adress is the same as the displayed adress by clicking on the Valid Adress bookmark.
If the 2 displayed adresses do not match, treat the site with extreme caution.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:30 AM
byRo's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Goiânia, Brazil
Posts: 1,536
Gary, that's very interesting.
I tried but it didn't work, got this error message...

Quote:
Erro: uncaught exception: [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80004005 (NS_ERROR_FAILURE) [nsIDOMLocation.hostname]" nsresult: "0x80004005 (NS_ERROR_FAILURE)" location: "JS frame :: javascript:alert(%22The real URL is:%22 + location.protocol + %22//%22 + location.hostname + %22/%22 + %22\nThe address URL is: %22 + location.href + %22\n%22 + %22If the server names do not match, this may be a spoof.%22) :: <TOP_LEVEL> :: line 1" data: no]
My Firefox / Java speaks portuguese, would that be a problem?

Any ideas?

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2006, 10:11 AM
Gary Richardson's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 2,668
Don't really know, sorry. This was something I picked up somewhere (can't remember where).

I'm a complete novice with javascript, I just know it works on my box, and is useful for checking sites.

just posting the script again in case the site software altered it somehow. (I've put it in a code box this time to stop that happening). Did you copy and paste it from my earlier post, could be there are some hidden symbols not shown.

Code:
javascript:alert(%22The real URL is:%22 + location.protocol + %22//%22 + location.hostname + %22/%22 + %22\nThe address URL is: %22 + location.href + %22\n%22 + %22If the server names do not match, this may be a spoof.%22)
Just tried making a new one to make sure it works, and it worked fine. (Note: I could not copy/paste from the box in this post, so you'll need to copy it by hand).

Last edited by Gary Richardson : 01-07-2006 at 10:24 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2006, 10:54 AM
byRo's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Goiânia, Brazil
Posts: 1,536
OK, Gary, got it working now.
The script is fine, the problem was the "Load in Sidebar" option.
I unchecked that and now the message appears correctly.

Thanks!


(Photoshop Never did know what CODE tags were for)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2006, 02:38 PM
Gary Richardson's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 2,668
Glad you found out what the problem was.

It's not a programme you'll use a lot, but it's useful when you want it, and it can save you from entering info onto a page that's not what it claims to be.

The script does work in IE, I just can't remember how I entered it onto the toolbar. It's a while since I used IE.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quality Photo Retouching @ Good Rate radixindia Classifieds 0 10-04-2007 01:16 PM
A Question To Ant About Fine Jewelry Retouching SteveB2005 Photo Retouching 2 10-04-2007 12:11 AM
Retouching Assistants? Calden Work/Jobs 1 04-11-2007 11:01 AM
Video DVD on Dior Glamour Retouching? Worth Doing? ray12 Photo Retouching 15 04-06-2007 07:41 PM
Anecdotes from your retouching jobs Doug Nelson Work/Jobs 12 09-28-2006 01:56 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright © 2008 Doug Nelson. All Rights Reserved moo




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50