Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

New Business/Frusterated

Old 01-23-2006, 07:49 PM
New Business/Frusterated

Hello all. I believe I posted here before once or twice, but if not (or if you dont remember/ etc), I'm an early 20's graduate of WSU (washington), with a BA in Business and History but a passion for Photoshop and restoration. I've been using photoshop since I was a highschool student, and read many books on photoshop, including Photoshop Restoration and Retouching by Katrin Eismann.

I want to take my business skills, combined them with my love of photoshop, and open a restoration service (online).

I just really honestly don't know how/where I should market such a service. Locally we don't have much for an interest/client base... I live in a fairly small community. So I'd like to branch wider on the world wide web.

Any suggestions? (Please and thank you).
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-23-2006, 10:11 PM
Hi There:

Call around and find local Genealogy Societies , they are a good resource for restoration. Put together a presentation and call and ask to give them a program. Have brocures and business card ready for hand outs and put together a portfolio of all you have done and examples of what you can do. Put up fliers around your town and surrounding area's. This is just one suggestion. I wish you luck no matter what you do. Neb
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-24-2006, 06:41 PM
Location: northwest Indiana, about 45 minutes from Chicago, IL
Welcome aboard! You might also try local historical societies. Some of them have a lot of work to be done, while others are more interested in keeping only the original photos.

Do you *know* there's no interest in or around your town? Having a BA in history and business should give you an edge.