RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Asked to do more -- negotiate higher salary?

Old 04-23-2006, 07:12 AM

Asked to do more -- negotiate higher salary?

I currently work as a basic photo editor. Recently I have been asked to do higher end retouching-- heavy image manipulation and beauty changes, not the simple sharpening/color correction as usual. They seem pleased at the results.

My dilemna is this... I have very little related work experience outside of my current job and I have never taken any retouching classes or had any professional training. Browsing posts here, it seems that most people suggest that $30 is a reasonable rate for a good retoucher. I make about half that. I feel that I am pretty good, but I know experience does matter in money.

Should I point out my new "job description" and try and renegotiate my salary? Or should I even go so far as to refuse to do that type of work unless I am compensated justly, if I bring up salary negotiation and they refuse it? I don't want to be taken advantage of, but would it be better, career-wise, to just do the work and perhaps have them realize they should move me into a different position title?
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-23-2006, 01:25 PM

By your own admission "recently ... have been asked to do higher end retouching..."

Maybe your boss is testing to see if you can handle "higher end" work...
I would do the work for a couple months and enjoy the opportunity to be exposed to more chanllenging work. I would do my best, gain experience and then in a couple of months have a little talk with the manager.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tig