RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Advice from NYC retouchers

Old 12-18-2006, 11:55 AM

Advice from NYC retouchers

Hello,

I have a few questions for any experienced New York City retouchers out there. (or anyone who has been working in a commercial big city environment.)

I'm about to change direction in my career and head towards retouching. I've been working in the commercial photo industry for a few years now in New York City and have come to understand it up close and personal. Being a fine artist, I'm not digging the commercial aspect of my career, however. By the time I get to work on my own fine art stuff, all I see are ads, and it's burning me out. It's like the having writers-block, for a visual artist.

I do, however, love working with Photoshop. I took an advanced Photoshop class over at the School of Visual Arts and have learned a lot about retouching, both there and in the studio at work. I've been practicing a lot and have a few questions about starting over as a retoucher in New York City...

1) I need to build my retouching portfolio. I have been working mostly in a still life studio and have plenty of shots to work with. But I don't want to limit myself to just still life. Any advice for obtaining images for a well-rounded portfolio? (ex: high end beauty, music industry, cover art, etc.) Someone told me he uses Adobe stock through Bridge. Has anyone else done this?

2) I'm just not sure where to go with my portfolio and how to market myself as a beginner with no big-house experience. I've found New York to be a tough city to get one's foot in the door with no insiders to help. There are just so many people with more experience than me going for the same positions. Does anyone have any back door experience you could share?