RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Learning D-Max

Old 03-28-2007, 12:57 PM

Learning D-Max

I am a graphic designer and photographer with over a decade of professional experience. Though self-taught, I am extremely knowledgeable about both hardware and software. I am particularly advanced in my Photoshop skills. I recently was offered a retouching position, but I had to know how to D-Max files, so I could not take the position. I understand the concept of D-Max, and have been doing it after a fashion in my own auto-didactic way for years, but I would like to find a formal, technical and detailed book, tutorial, or even class if it’s in the Los Angles area. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-28-2007, 07:21 PM

Re: Learning D-Max

Hi ljshapiro the best book is called,Beyond the zone system by Phil Davis.You might be able to find it used,also there is a web site btzs.org give it a try

best of luck zganie
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-28-2007, 07:57 PM

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-28-2007, 08:06 PM

Amazon has a new version of Beyond the Zone System, and by the description, it appears to be about photography, light density, etc., without specific digital information, i.e. dealing with specifics in photoshop. I'm looking for something more pragmatic which will help me learn what I need to know to work as a prepress retoucher. I need to know the theory as well, so I will definitely read this book.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-28-2007, 08:17 PM