Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

I am I in the wrong price range

Old 05-01-2007, 10:37 PM
I am I in the wrong price range

I think I am not charging enough.
I do work for Photographer in my area of Michigan. I was talked into $1.75 per image. Now this is for senior portraits. The standard retouch is smooth out the skin, lines under eyes, and stray hairs. He (the photographer) thinks since it doesn't take me long I should not charge what I belive I should. I have been doing this for 6 years and I know I am worth more. I just don't know what Other options I have. He is one of my biggest customers. I also do all the Copy and resto work. Build matte's Swap people change backgrounds. For that he will give me $15 per hour. Any input would be nice. Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-01-2007, 11:58 PM
Re: I am I in the wrong price range

I'm from a high priced area, so my experience might be different. You should research your area and the going prices.... but.....

You prices sound low to me. I also notice that you're on the defensive by saying "I was talked into," "he'll give me," "he thinks".

When you are self-employed it's up to you to give yourself a decent living. You determine your rates.

I would start looking for more customers and charge a more appropriate rate. At some point this customer won't hold your life in his hands and you can tell him your rates have changed. He can then decide whether he wants to accept that or not.

Good luck

PS: You already know you're not getting a fair price because you've posted here.

Last edited by BillFrey; 05-02-2007 at 12:02 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-02-2007, 03:32 AM