RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

The life of a professional retoucher

Old 02-24-2002, 11:29 PM
Janitor

The life of a professional retoucher

We've talked a lot about the restoration business, but almost nothing about the retouching business (and this is RetouchPRO, after all).

Maybe its because all of us are like me and haven't a clue about life as a retoucher.

Are there any retouchers out there? Are you freelance, or do you work for someone? How do you get your business? How do you transport files, or do you scan from prints?

Etc., etc., etc.

Since I know nothing about the business side of retouching, I don't even know what to ask about.

Retouchers, speak up and be heard.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-02-2002, 12:12 AM

Mr. Nelson,
I took it, you were a janitor all along.
I'm a photographer/retoucher. I do the high schools(seniors) and model portfolios for models, agencies. I use film and/or digital. When going to the web. I scan from the print(like to use an 8 x 10). Retouching, Scan the neg.(70mm,2 1/4,35mm) or digital.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-07-2002, 10:57 PM
Janitor

OK, this had an excellent start, then petered out. But I still want to know all that stuff in the first post.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-07-2002, 11:50 PM

I've worked as an in house retoucher for a studio. I also have worked as an in house photolab digital artist. As a lab artist, I am usually handed a variety of things to work on - both retouching and restoration. I think it would probably be the same for independant artists.