RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Another 'what skills do I need' question...

Old 05-13-2007, 02:55 PM

Question Another 'what skills do I need' question...

hi, i know we're probably covering old ground here, just wanted some advice specific to me. sorry for the heavy text, had these thoughts buzzing around in my head for a month now and only just found the perfect outlet!

i'm currently a product/transportation designer, but am considering moving into retouching. i've been using photoshop for about 5 yrs, mainly to visualise concepts but also for retouching photorealistic CAD images (at work) and photos (just my own ones). i'm pretty skilled at rendering from scratch and believe i've got a good sense of lighting, shadows etc. i'm confident/competent using paths, layers, blending options, curves, brush tools, layer styles and filters.

whilst i enjoy my job, the wages are really low so i need to find something that pays the bills! recently i was commissioned by a car magazine (thanks to a referral from a journo friend who knows my work) to do a retouch/mod job on some press images, and spent a weekend doing these (before, before and after-which they have made a bit too dark..)...it involved moving/stretching and cloning, to making bits from scratch (ie front&rear bumpers, wing mirrors) and 'painting' on decals (and subtle reflections on the red parts). also lots of little things, eg de-chroming parts. the clients were very happy with them, and said they would definitely use me again, although as they very rarely publish those sorts of images it's not going to be a regular gig.

anyway, it got me thinking, i love using ps and get a kick out of making pretty images, so am seriously considering a career change.

so my questions are;