RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

i'm a photographer - educate me!!

Old 11-26-2007, 08:56 PM

Cool i'm a photographer - educate me!!

time to educate a client *every* industry wishes their clients were more educated...right?

i'm a wedding photographer. i'm decent at post-processing, and enjoy the advanced editing i do to a selection of photos, but i'm just bored to tears by the basics: culling, white balance, exposure, levels, etc. and while i'm good if you look at any individual photo (and getting better everyday), i don't have the consistency i'd like. and, it takes me forever. unfortunately i don't have high enough volume to hire someone. soooooo, i'm a perfect candidate for outsourcing, right?

so why can i find sooooo few companies that do this!!?? (6 I've counted. shootdotedit.com and mylavalu.com are the most well known, but they have huge waiting lists) is it because that stuff is boring to the retouchers too?

obviously this forum has a lot of professionals, many of whom specialize in making an individual photo perfect. but surely some of you wouldn't mind having a business making a batch of photos look great?

here's what i'm looking for:
Cull 1200-1500 photos down to 700-900
Basic editing on the remaining including:
- white balance/color balance
- exposure
- levels/contrast/saturation - ie, the "pop"
Consistency of editing (photo to photo & event to event)
Attention to my "style" and preferences (ie, how cool or warm i like images, how much contrast, what skin colors should look like)
Turnaround time of 5-10 days (not including shipping)
JPEG conversion
Priced at $200-$500

Additional services available (b/w conversion, facial retouch, exit sign removal, etc) for $30-$50 per hour