RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Photographer to Retoucher...Advice needed Pls!

Old 04-10-2008, 08:17 AM

Smile Photographer to Retoucher...Advice needed Pls!

Hey,
I'm a photographer/ Studio Manager, running a portrait studio for a large company. We use photoshop everyday for basic retouching. I am wanting to move into retouching professionally, but am lost as to where to start. Is there a course I must have under my belt? Apart from knowing photoshop inside out what other tools are used? Where do I start? What are the best agencies? Any help or advice would be very gratefully received!

Many thanks,
Allie.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-11-2008, 04:39 AM

Re: Photographer to Retoucher...Advice needed Pls!

Hi Allie, I say this over and over when people ask. To be really great you must know how to draw. Take some figure drawing and or anatomy drawing classes. A lot of people have the basic knowledge of photoshop and then therefore think that they can retouch. But to be better then the tech's you need the drawing/painting skills. Then just beat the pavement(or internet, I should say).ha! And for that there are a lot of good threads on this site and National Association of Photoshop Professionals.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-11-2008, 08:03 AM

Thumbs up Re: Photographer to Retoucher...Advice needed Pls!

Thanks wtowle. Much appreciated. Is this what potential employers look for? Also, I'm finding it hard to get a foot in the door regarding job vacancies, so I will check out the NAPP. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-11-2008, 10:40 AM

Why do you have to know how to draw? I draw stick people and I make a nice living at this. What are you drawing?
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-12-2008, 09:12 AM