RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

New Freelancer looking for advice

Old 08-10-2008, 02:25 AM

Unhappy New Freelancer looking for advice

Hi everyone! I just joined here! I'm looking for advice on a few things..

First of all, I've been working as a retoucher for about 5 years now. Out of college (2003) I started working for a photographer who used me as his retoucher/phone op/studio manager/etc. He paid me $10/hr which was never enough considering all that was asked of me. I spent the past 5 years searching for a worthwhile retouching job while taking on various freelance projects. I haven't had any luck finding a job with decent pay. I'm currently working freelance and have had steady work from a photographer who pays me $2/picture (usually ends up being $10-$20/hr). This sucks to say the least lol! I live in LA and can't afford anything out here. I don't know what to do. Sometimes I just think it's LA. All the job ads I read are so depressing (pay wise). Is it just me, or is it LA? Can anyone offer any tips on how to get a job/clients that pay enough to live off of? I love retouching and I love being freelance, I want to make it work pretty bad but I just can't survive on such low pay.

My other question is, how can I build up a portfolio (website) to show to potential clients when all of the photographers I'm working for are asking me not to use their work on my site? I know they have rights to the photos so just using them anyway would be looking for trouble. But here I am with 5 years of work behind me and nothing to show for it. Any there any places out there that offer pictures that are free to use for anything? I really have no clue what to do about this.

Any advice would be very much appreciated!
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-10-2008, 04:39 AM