RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Please Help, O Wise RetouchPro Community!

Old 08-03-2009, 02:58 AM

Newbie Please Help, O Wise RetouchPro Community!

So...I recently graduated (from SVA) with a bfa in photography. I'm a fine art photographer with a boatload of 'student retouching' experience; took the Photoshop classes, can composite nearly anything (but I didn't say quickly), can successfully beauty retouch, regularly use Photoshop with my own images, have a working knowledge of color management, know how to use a colorimeter...you get the idea. So, here I am, unemployed and actively working on my retouching skills, hoping to gain some confidence and ultimately land a retouching job/internship/something related (that pays). I'm in the midst of my first freelance gig and really enjoying it. However, I've noticed my workflow really isn't up to speed a lot of the time, and I'm pretty sure I could be doing most tasks in less time/steps through a more efficient and better informed use of Photoshop. Also, I'm starting to realize (naturally) that I don't know quite as much as I thought I did. For instance, I'm still a bit mystified about the practical use of some layer blending modes...
Anyway, I would truly appreciate any advice as far as good resources for improving speed and efficiency, or any careering/professional advice for a New Yorker who understands the competitive nature of the field, and isn't quite sure where to begin. Thank you!
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-04-2009, 12:51 AM

Re: Please Help, O Wise RetouchPro Community!

Well... it's clear you need the experience.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-04-2009, 04:37 PM

Lightbulb Re: Please Help, O Wise RetouchPro Community!

Thank you, Captain Obvious...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg captain obvious.jpg (45.5 KB, 26 views)