RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Is self-employment a go?

Old 07-20-2010, 07:38 PM

Is self-employment a go?

Hi everyone, I'm new to this site and also I'm a "new" retoucher. I just wanted to say "Hi" to you all and hopefully get some thoughts from you concerning becoming self-employed as a retoucher.

I've been using Photoshop just for my own images for a couple of years and have developed some pretty good retouching skills that I think are now at the stage where I could charge for retouching work. I wouldn't call myself "high-end" but nor am I "bargain bucket basic". I'm especially strong in terms of my skin smoothing, blemish removal and colour correction.

I've been unemployed for a few months and was thinking that retouching on a self-employed basis could be a great new way to earn my living - after all I already have all of the kit I need and I've no mortgage to pay so my overheads are minimal but from some of the comments in the forums talking about being paid a couple of dollars per image I'm wondering if my dream is really possible. Ideally I would like to retouch wedding photos for clients directly or on behalf of a professional wedding photographer but I'm open to other possible markets anyone could suggest.