RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

What does a retoucher do for a certain rate

Old 10-24-2010, 04:31 AM

What does a retoucher do for a certain rate

Hello, as my name says, I am a rookie, interested in retouching as a career and was wondering about what a retoucher does for a certain amount of money. Like, I understand working on a fixed rate/picture, but I don't understand how working hourly works. For instance, someone asking for 100$/hour, how many pictures do he complete, or how long does it take him to complete a picture? And what does he actually do on a picture in that timeframe?
My experience consists of retouching relative high res pictures like 3500x2300, with 3-4 girls in the picture for instance, wearing swimsuits. The lighting was bad, the skin had a lot of problems and that's only normal I suppose since this wasn't a professional photo shoot, they weren't wearing make up, they needed slimming. So I handled everything I could think of, from the smallest blemish and stray hair, to fixing up the background, and this took me quite a few hours. Now, I imagine I am not yet and never will be the fastest retoucher, but how long does a professional retoucher need to handle such a problematic picture and make it look glamarous and as good as it can be and how much would he charge? Also I wanted to add, I didn't use blurring and kept all details and texture and whatever else needed to not make it look obviously retouched.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-24-2010, 10:20 AM
Patron

Re: What does a retoucher do for a certain rate