Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Advice on starting out

Old 11-09-2010, 12:53 PM
Advice on starting out

Hello and thank you in advance for your advice.

I live in Toronto, Ontario, I've been learning/practicing photo retouching and restoration for about 3 years. I'm really interested in doing this as a career, but I'm really not sure where to start. I have some experience restoring photos for friends and family. I've also done some retouching for a photographer that i know, mostly just retouching photos for a mutual friend to give the photographer an idea of what outcome is desired. I really want to expand further and build a portfolio and of course experience.

Starting in the new year I will be taking a certification program for digital design, I feel that having a certificate can only help in my advancement in this field. What I'm really looking for though is some kind of starting path for a career in this industry, which I'm not to sure about going about. Either an internship or a assistant position would be amazing, but again I'm at a loss on how to go about it. I thought about e-mailing studios in my area and asking if they are in need of help and offering my services but I'm not sure that is the best course of action. So I am asking for your advice.

If you need any additional information please let me know.

Thank you again for your advice.
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-11-2010, 12:51 AM
Re: Advice on starting out

here is a link with some good info on how to start planning for a retouching business --