RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Tips for portfolios

Old 02-11-2011, 09:19 AM

Tips for portfolios

Hello,

I work in an advertising agency at the minute, but I'd like to move into freelance retouching (I have about 5 years experience in photography and beauty retouching).

My question is: when you're putting together your portfolio, do you show before/afters, or do you just show finished images, or a combination of the two?

Thanks in advance!

C
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-11-2011, 02:01 PM

Re: Tips for portfolios

I think you should show the before/afters. Its much more dramatic when you see the differences after you worked on it, especially when the 'after' is laid overtop the 'before' - like a rollover.

thats what I think - anyone else agree or disagree?

--Shift Studio.
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-11-2011, 07:56 PM
Patron

I agree with shift studio. Only showing the final result of your work without the original does not necessarily represent your skills as a retoucher. Roll-overs or side by side images work well.
Regards, Murray
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-12-2011, 05:48 PM

I agree -- before and after
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-12-2011, 07:39 PM

I would not show before and afters personally, most photographers and models don't appreciate it, it does provide an easy visual reference, but your job is making an image all it can be not showing what you have done.

My tuppence worth.
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-13-2011, 04:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Needham View Post
I would not show before and afters personally, most photographers and models don't appreciate it, it does provide an easy visual reference, but your job is making an image all it can be not showing what you have done.

My tuppence worth.