RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

How to deal with a "Zilla"

Old 04-16-2011, 03:42 PM

Thumbs up How to deal with a "Zilla"

Hello all,

I am a newbie to this site and enjoying it so far. I have a question for anyone willing to give some advice/answers.

I have a client who recently disputed my price for a full page black & white ad for a program book. (8.5 x 11). I charged $150.00 after many hours of revisions and editing. She wound up with 6 usable ads, but was still not happy. She stated that the cost of placing the ad in the program book was $400 and she wanted the ad to be jamming. Finally, she asked me to just make the ad a full page picture with the logos and would I do it for $100 because she thought my price was too high. I told her that I could not discount the hours already put into the other ads, but for an additional $25, I would make it from scratch in PS if she would search the net for something comparable to what she was expecting. She replied, "You have lost your mind!" I spent 2 hours consulting in person (not including driving time & gas) and 6-8 hours on editing and revisions. Am I being unreasonable? I am not certain how to respond. It's as though she wants me to discount the hours that I have already put into the other ads prior to her settling for a one picture ad page. I personally feel she received 3 "jamming" ads out of the 7 to choose from.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-16-2011, 05:44 PM

Re: How to deal with a "Zilla"

Not sure if it will help this time but:

You spent 10 hours or better for $150? Thats a whole $15/hour. In my experience the customers who get cheap work are a bigger pain than those who pay a more reasonable rate or in other words you are too cheap.