RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Entry Level Jobs

Old 07-13-2011, 04:28 PM

Entry Level Jobs

I recently decided it was time for me to start my retouching career. I have a couple of restored images under my belt but I'm no professional. I'm interested in all aspect of retouching from restoring images to hi-end fashion but I have a long way to go. At this point I'm clueless on how to start making/attracting money. I'm thinking it might be better suited for me to land a job until I am able to branch out on my own but I'm not sure.

What are some good approaches to getting into this industry?

What are some good entry level retouching jobs I could pursue while building up my skills and portfolio?

Any advice or guidance is greatly appreciated.
Thanks for taking time to read my post.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-15-2011, 09:14 AM

Re: Entry Level Jobs

Look for internships at photo studios, ad agencies, or pre-press houses. Craigslist can be a good place to look. These are the most likely places to find retouching jobs outside of actual retouching studios. Definitely try to get an entry level or internship position at a retouching studio if there is any in your area. I don't know what the Portland market is like, but a quick google search sent me here:

http://www.pushdotstudio.com/site/index.html

You could contact them and inquire about openings.

Starting out in this way is tantamount to entering an apprenticeship, so have patience and some humility. Learn as much as you can.

If location isn't a huge concern for you, then going to a bigger market like NYC will have way more opportunities for someone starting out. Just sayin.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-15-2011, 01:12 PM

Hey Eraanexact

First and foremost Thanks for replying.