RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

First Interview

Old 04-13-2012, 09:46 AM

Exclamation First Interview

Hi, I'm a relatively young, self taught retoucher, and I have my first interview as a freelancer on Monday, does any one have any advice on what I should take to the interview or how to approach it?

Thanks so much!
Agnes
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-13-2012, 01:39 PM

Re: First Interview

Take a printed book if you have one. Expect to take a retouching test, and double check everything before you're done. Be personable! Sometimes the only difference between candidates is that one is more amicable and easier to work with than the others, so be sure that you're the one who gets called back. Good luck!
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-14-2012, 02:38 PM
RetouchPRO LIVE Guest Artist
Patron

And don't use your real name on forums in case the potential boss is a member here! ;-)

Good luck with your interview and come back and let us know how it went (and say good things about the experience just in case, ha!).
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-15-2012, 09:46 AM

More generic comments than craft specific, but I hope these general suggestions help.

When asked a question, answer it without rambling onto other subjects that could hurt you. I'm not suggesting "one word" replies... Just keep focused.

Take time to research the company. Learn as much about it as you can. Be prepared to ask a few company-related questions yourself, e.g., "I read that you recently did work for [whomever]. How did that come about?" or "I've seen your ads for [xxx]. Can you tell me more about that?" Gives person doing the interview a chance to brag on the company, plus shows initiative on your part plus interest in company by you.