Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Takin' the dive

Old 08-16-2002, 12:08 AM
Takin' the dive

Greetings everyone!
My name is Jeff East , I have been working as a painter and fine art photographer off and on for some time now, working nights as a lab rat. I have been working in photographic labs now for over 10 years and some of that time was spent in the digital imaging department of a large retail photo lab.
Hoping to break free from the comfort of a steady paycheck, I have decided to take a turn at restoration as a business.I have the equipment, software skills and drive, and even an offer of cheap retail space, what advice does anyone out there have for me? I have been doing some research and thoroughly enjoyed discovering this website, I guess I just need a kick in the pants to get going.
Thanks !
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-16-2002, 12:27 AM
Welcome to RetouchPro Jeff!

The best advice I can give is to keep posting and reading on this website. There are a lot of people here with considerable experience not only in graphics and photo restoration, but also in running a business. I mainly do photo restoration for fun with only the occasional "real" I can't offer much advice in way of business. Cheap retail space sounds like a good first step though!

I can relate to being a painter/artist. (mostly starving! ) Right now I'm in the middle of finishing a series of paintings and will be submitting slides to galleries soon...making money off a photo business can't be much harder than that!?
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-16-2002, 08:05 AM
Hi Jeff, welcome to RetouchPRO!

I don't know if you've read through any of the threads already in this Work/Jobs forum. They are a wealth of information for anyone wanting to start (or expand) a business in retouching.