RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

$13.50/hr for Dell ads.

Old 03-03-2013, 10:31 PM

$13.50/hr for Dell ads.

Please hear me out.

When I first started this job, I was grateful and more excited than anything. I'm a contractor for Dell's ad agency.

I am about 7 months in, and I'm generally starting to think I'm extremely underpaid for the work I do. I do heavy composite work on Dell lifestyle images, mostly product placement and product substitution. You see these in web ads, direct mail pieces, brochures, etc.

They have also recently given me the Art Buyer responsibility on top of the work I'm already drowned in. The amount of stress I'm under on a daily basis continues to grow. The office politics, long commute each day, bleak environment is taking a toll.

This is not my first retouching position. I don't think working here is worth my time anymore and I'd like some opinions on what you might do if you were in the same position. Asking for an hourly increase is a given no-no, as the company currently has a hiring freeze and huge budget crunches.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-04-2013, 10:25 AM

Re: $13.50/hr for Dell ads.

Sounds like a bad situation!
Please tell us your location. $13.50 is barely more than a fast food worker wage in Calgary, but is acceptable or even good in many places.
Anyways, I would get out of there if it were making me miserable.

--Shift Studio.

Last edited by shift studio; 03-04-2013 at 02:17 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-04-2013, 10:40 AM

I'm in Austin, Texas. We have an arts & crafts retail store here called Hobby Lobby that starts out at $13.50/hr..

Last edited by Shookone89; 03-04-2013 at 10:49 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-04-2013, 02:14 PM

"I don't think working here is worth my time anymore"