RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Dealing with clients....who are photographers

Old 05-03-2013, 09:14 AM

Dealing with clients....who are photographers

Hi

Thanks in advance for the taking the time.

I have been retouching for several years. I do some beauty work but the majority of my work is for head shots and portraits. It should be basic but can take a bit of time if done properly with natural looking results.

I do a lot of work for a very established photographer who has been shooting for 25+ yrs. They are very good and have an extensive portfolio. I think however that he (as well as many others) has gotten away from aesthetics and details of an image and leaves it up to post production. To me this is the worst because as a photographer myself I feel that photography isn't just about posing and light it's about the prepping and details of a shot. Things like stray hair and particles on clothes, wrinkles and distracting objects.

With retouching, in particular head shots and portraits the more you reconstruct or try to create something from nothing the more crappy and un-natural something looks. Not everything can be fixed with good results.

How do you tell a client who happens to be a really good, established photographer that...it just can't be done or shouldn't be done?

Thanks again
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-03-2013, 09:58 AM

Re: Dealing with clients....who are photographers

I wish I had an answer for you, but my first reaction is Good Luck with that!

--shift studio.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-03-2013, 11:01 AM
Patron

I think the Ego of the Professional will always get in the way. Therefore, if they want to pay you to fix something they could easily do themselves, that is their problem.