RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

How to get new customers?

Old 07-27-2015, 09:10 AM

How to get new customers?

I have clocked up a few decades of experience in the photography business and a good 15 years retouching experience. I am confident in my ability to handle most retouching tasks quickly and efficiently.

That's enough of the boasting. Now for my shortcomings. I'm relatively new to running my own business and don't have much experience in getting new clients. The work I have picked up so far has been for people I know well and already worked with. Problem is this is not enough.

Wondered what other peoples ideas were on getting new clients. I have so far gone down the route of social media marketing and SEO for my website. Neither of these have delivered results so far. I've also approached a few local companies directly, with very little response.

So my question is, how do you pick up new clients? What kind of work/client are you after as I would think a different approach is needed depending on who you're targeting?
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-27-2015, 09:23 AM
Janitor

Re: How to get new customers?

I've interviewed dozens of top retouchers over the years, and the #1 answer to your question from them is always personal contact with photographers. Phone calls, emails, or in one case walking into their studio. Have a killer portfolio viewable with just a click or two.

The passive approach (putting out great examples, waiting for them to be found) rarely works, and only then if something goes viral (which is just about impossible to engineer).
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-27-2015, 09:37 AM