RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Fair price for your work

Old 08-09-2001, 11:03 PM

I'm just getting started so things may take a while to get going. So far all my clients have been extremely pleased with their results. I've even had repeat customers.

My biggest problem is the price. Most people seem the think restoration is too much to pay and I have been really giving them a break on the price just to get a client base built up. They seem to think it should be no more expensive to repair photos then to just reprint them.

Another problem I have is that I love the work but dealing with the people and business aspects are not my style. I has been an experience though.

DJ
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-10-2001, 07:08 AM

Location: northwest Indiana, about 45 minutes from Chicago, IL
Debbie,

I'd like to offer a suggestion. It might be a mistake to do your work too cheaply in order to get started. If you don't have a business plan, you definitely need one. Some of the problems with being too cheap are as follows:

1. You are not showing the public that you have enough condifence in your work to charge competitive prices without being too cheap.

2. Once you have sold a few restorations at a profitable price, people will have more confidence in you as a pro.

3. If you are selling too cheaply, you might actually be losing money, even though you don't realize it. It's when you do the number crunching that it shows up.

4. When you sell too cheap, not only do you give the public the opinion that you don't have enough confidence in yourself, the public won't have the confidence in you either.