RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Best Buy

Old 09-23-2001, 07:46 AM

Best Buy

Suppose that you have the choice of either attending a Class on image processing or buying the equlivent dollar amount of books. Which represents the best value and which is going to help you the most? Tom
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-23-2001, 08:09 AM

Since most all of my Photoshop and computer use was self taught, I would have to say the books are more valuable to me. Although classes offer an aspect you can't gain from books with the ability to ask questions and getting feedback from fellow students, after the class is done you can't reference back to it very easy. Where as books are there as constant reference. I use my books very often because I remember a technique but not how to do it or because I need a question answered about a certain tools functions.
DJ
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-23-2001, 09:23 AM

I'd have to agree with DJ.

Also, I've never really been a good classroom student and have always taught myself whatever I wanted to learn whenver possible...it just seems more interesting and easier that way.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-23-2001, 09:25 AM

I'd go with books assuming the courses were charged (ref Regards ) As DJ said the books are a constant resource assuming the program doesn't evolve at too fast a rate.

My local library has a computer shelf about 20' by 6 and I'd say 95% of the stock is obsolete in fact thay tend to buy in the smaller quick guides to various programs now. I must say there's a a huge amount of stuff on the net and its much more up to date than any book plus lots of personal opinion and experience on tap e.g. this site.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-23-2001, 11:42 AM

Hi all!