RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Work/Jobs
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Work/Jobs Talk about the business side of things. Advice, questions, inspiration, and moral support

Professional Retoucher's Advice needed...

Old 06-03-2004, 09:40 AM

Professional Retoucher's Advice needed...

I was writing to see if someone could give me some advice.* I'm all self-taught, pretty much, so my workflow is vastly different from "professional" retouching houses.* I feel I'm pretty good, but I'd like to know more about what "high end" retouching refers too? I find that term to be very intimidating, and since I'm self taught, I feel like maybe there's something I don't know-- However, I pretty confident in my abilities.* I'm up for a professional job as a retoucher, but I'm just curious what they may expect from someone like me, who is "professional" retoucher?* Could you tell me some of the things that maybe you do at your job retouching, and what kinds of jobs you handle as well as the complexity of the retouching?* I'd really appreciate it.* Alright, I've babbled long enough.* Thanks in advance, and I look forward to hearing from you.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-03-2004, 10:08 AM

matthias:

Welcome to RetouchPRO.

Although I don't do retouching professionally, a resource I can point you to that will give you a sense of the skill sets needed to handle most situations (and their corresponding workflows) is Photoshop Restoration and Retouching by Katrin Eismann. There are two editions of this book, the second of which includes a significant contribution by the owner/admin of this site, Doug Nelson.

If it's not part of your library yet, I highly recommend it. It's unparalleled content-wise.

Good luck on the forthcoming opportunity. Hope this helps.

~Danny~
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-03-2004, 01:49 PM