RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Your Website
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Your Website Questions and (hopefully) answers about setting up your own business or gallery website

my website - at the moment solely photography-focused... suggestions?

Old 10-10-2007, 11:44 AM

Cool my website - at the moment solely photography-focused... suggestions?

Hi guys!

I'm a photographer who is heading down the retouching path, or trying to at least. I've been shooting for a few years now and have built up what I feel is a somewhat solid body of photographic work.

Since I'm just getting started, my website is focused on the images (fine art/documentary/whatever) I've shot rather than any retouching work I might have done to them.

So, firstly, I'm wondering - how crucial are before/after photos on a website in order to get hired - either with an agency or freelance? I'm really new to this and I can use some seasoned advice.

Secondly, do you think there is a way to seamlessly and elegantly mix a fine art portfolio with a retouching portfolio? Or is it just best to have two separate websites? Having focused on fine art for the past years, it's strange to imagine removing the focus from that, but one's gotta make a living.

Any words are appreciated. Thank you!!

http://quadrantgrove.net

Noele
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-10-2007, 11:59 AM

Re: my website - at the moment solely photography-focused... suggestions?

As far a showing off your retouching abilities, you definitely need before and after comparisons. There's no other way for people to judge your skills because they need to see where the photo started.

I see no problem in putting your retouching materials on the same page as your photos. Many photographers do both and most all do post production clean up or pay someone else to do it.