Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Retouching Assistants?

Hi everybody,
    I recently moved to New York and am looking for entry level retouching opportunities. I have been doing freelance assisting for two years and retouching for one. I would really like to get my foot in the door at a retouching house, but don't think anyone is taking me very seriously with only one year of experience. Anyways, I was wondering if there is such a thing as a retouching assistant? And also, are there really any entry level retouching jobs, or is it pretty much freelance until you have enough experience.

I was thinking about doing an internship, but I'm not in school anymore and need to work for a living, it also feels like it would be taking a step back after photo assisting for two years. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance for any help.

Re: Retouching Assistants?

big retouching houses have all levels of retouchers. Be prepared to clean up backgrounds and cut masks and paths for a long time, but yeah, there is work to be had. Another in for you might be ad agencies. Many of the larger agencies have gone in-house with their retouching and since they tend toward a lot of retail work, they have need for less experienced retouchers. Get a book together if you don't have one already and start shopping yourself just as you are - a retoucher with 1 year experience. Just make sure what's in your book looks perfect and don't worry about the lack of technical ability it took to get there. Also, you may wish to try your hand at working direct with up and coming photographers who are getting published, but have no retouching budget. this will provide you with more experience and you'll have more tears for your book. good luck.

Comment

Related Topics

Collapse

• McCallister81
      The "administrative" side of retouching?
      by McCallister81