Things that say "I'm not really a professional"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Things that say "I'm not really a professional"

1. Using gmail or yahoo or any other email domain besides your own. Pros spend the $5/year on their own domain.
    2. Using myspace or any other website domain besides your own. See #1, plus pros are proud of their work and want to control how it's seen.
    3. Beautiful examples on an ugly/amateurish website or one that is an obvious template
    4. Ugly examples on a beautiful website
    5. No contact method besides email. Pros have phone numbers and mailing addresses and aren't afraid/embarrassed to share them
    6. "Contact me for more details". Pros know that most potential customers will simply browse away if there's anything not clearly and completely explained
    7. Only one or two examples of your work
    8. Ridiculous levels of copyright protection. Pros know the law, and that javascript tricks and stealth techniques won't protect you any more than a simple line of text.

Feel free to add your own.
    Last edited by Doug Nelson; 06-11-2008, 12:36 PM. Reason: Bad spelling is also very unprofessional
    Learn by teaching
    Take responsibility for learning

Re: Things that say "I'm not really a professional

I agree with you on 8, nothing is more annoying then a water mark over the images

Comment

Google Adsense on opening page or on galleries. A lot of advertising in general. Ads unrelated to photography or design.

A site that claims artistic merit, style etc. but looks like it was built in 1995 - large text (looks like the Reader's Digest large-type edition) and large "clunky", beveled buttons, New Times Roman font. "Under construction" signs. E-mail link icon that looks like a cartoon mail box. Animated gifs. Tables with thick beveled borders.
      Any spelling or grammar errors.

Comment

Definitely agree with this...
        Originally posted by smak View Post