Just joined up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just joined up

Hello to everyone; I have been a hobbyist with intermediate-level skills in retouching for about 2 years now. I discovered this website when I came across a description of it in my copy of PSE 11 "missing manual". Wish I'd noticed that short blurb back when I first bought the book. I hope to discover and learn a lot here, since retouching old pictures is what I like most of all in working with Photoshop. I get my photos from the Library of Congress, downloading a 12-to-20 megabyte TIFF to work on. Many of them are at least 80 years old, though I have some from the Civil War and a larger number dating from the turn of the 19th century. I love the grand old architecture from that period, and steam locomotives, etc. I'm sure all here know what kind of shape these photos are in to start with. I'm especially interested in how folks here deal with the scratches, stains, fingerprints, cracked emulsion, etc., that have all but obliterated a hundred-year-old photo.

Re: Just joined up

Welcome! Your historical project sounds interesting, please post some of your work.

Back in the late '90s I was actually allowed in to the Tennessee State Archives with my camera and lights to copy any of their historical photos I wished. These and many others are also online now (but smaller, of course).

A quick and simple answer to your question (IMO) is to make good use of the Healing Brush in Photoshop. It gets rid of spots, cracks, stains, etc. I tend to use it in Content Aware mode, adjusting the brush size with the [bracket] keys.

For fixing long straight lines, make your first click, then hold Shift and make the last click on the opposite end of the line. Everything in between will be treated.
    Last edited by plugsnpixels; 07-20-2014, 12:15 AM.

Comment