comments and critique please...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• comments and critique please...

just playing around, critique me please.. appreciate it.. thanks!

Giga
    Attached Files

I like what you did. I am just beginning but I was wondering something.... could you use a mask on the orange woman in the top right and tone down or remove the orange shadow on her nose? By the way, how did you do this, was it a filter or threshold and color replacement? I like the idea and want to try it. When I have done things like this before I started studying these things I always got great results but there were always parts that didn't work, so now that I know masks I would have more control on each aspect of the composition. Really nice though. Is this going to be a promotion card?

Comment

thank you for the reply sheri,

no,no, im just trying different things.. playing around..

i took an image, used the select color range to copy what i needed from that image, then paste it on a background.
      my idea is to paste just a silhoutte of the image, so i didn't bother to mask things..

Giga

Comment

Giga,

I know you said you were just messing around, but you asked for a critique. I'm not sure exactly how you did this but its something akin to posterization with coloring. I like the effect. Once, maybe again with a major variation, but there is too much of one good thing. All the shots are high-contrast - or posterization with only a few levels, no mid-range tonality so it doesn't demonstrate any 'range' of ability. You could have mixed in some high-key, broad mid-range, low-key treatments. Could also use the severe color with a high-key or low-key photo. You titled it Re-Touching but it pretty clearly falls into the Photo-Art realm. Very imaginative and edgy. I like that.

In case you missed it, there was a time when this was a most overused technique for LP album cover art, except is was much harder to do then - dark room stuff!