Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First attempt

Hi everyone

I'm new to retouching and this my first real attempt at photo retouching. The photographer is Chanel Rene, who kindly offered her work for retouch practice. I mainly used the heal brush and dodge and burn. I also tried to adjust her skin tone on her face to match her body better. I've tried to keep the freckles because I love them (I have freckles too :p ) I'm pretty pleased for a first attempt but feel it lack sparkle.

So please could you let me know what I'm getting right.. or wrong and what I else I need to do?

Thanks
    Attached Files

Re: First attempt

Adjust RGB levels on your final image and it'll be there. (Input 0 - 1.0 - 192 for example). Nice job otherwise.

Comment

I think you did a fine job as well, however, depending on what you wanted to place emphasis on would change the outcome. I'm referring to the product she's holding or the model herself.
      I agree with your thoughts on freckles (love em), but the large ones on the arm are a distraction.
      I adjusted your "after" photo to illustrate my suggestions, which I hope is ok. I'd suggest the following:
      More texture on the white thing
      enhancing the eye catchlight and lighten the eyes somewhat.
      Contrast and warmth adj. to add some pop.
      Maybe a slight dark vignette to bring attention to the face.

Of course these change would look better applied to a higher resolution image.
      Attached Files
      Last edited by LQQKER; 08-24-2008, 11:38 AM.

Comment

Wow thanks for the advice. I'll try suggestions and post my results

Lqqker i love what you've done... it's got that "pop" I just wasn't getting!

Comment

Hi Lydia,

Everyone has to start somewhere and if this is your first 'real' attempt then you've done a good job.
          There are only a couple of things I would suggest and they are:

Brighten it up just a touch, she dosn't stand out, use levels, curves etc.,and a touch of hue/sat.