Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first 2 retouch pictures

Hello!
    This is my first post here so nice to meet you!
    I'm a beginner in the retouch business and I want to hear your opinions about 2 works. Thanks!

Woman

Man

Re: My first 2 retouch pictures

definitely some potential here. just a couple things: watch out on both removing TOO much wrinkles or eye definition under the eyes...you're losing some of the depth. The hair on the woman is looking a little stiff. Its a good start but watch the part by her ear where it just stops and other areas that might look a bit unnatural. Finally try adding a bit more contrast at the end to make both pop a little more and contour the faces.

Comment

Suras333,
      Welcome to RetouchPro !
      A couple of quick points also....
      Woman
      - review the overall appearance of the image. It's starting to get quite bright, similar to an overexposed image from a camera flash. This is also made worse by the very bright background. Try toning down the background, then reworking the skin tones a bit.
      - the eye-whites are much too white.
      - the teeth are approaching being too white also. Compare to the original... look how much detail are in the originals, and very little reflection. Get back to that, only whiten a little.

Man
      - much better, good job on the hair.
      - the skin is beginning to take on some blurred look, so don't go too far. Especially in the chin. It's fine to leave a little 5-o'clock shadow, it's manly. All you want to do is tone it down a bit, not remove it.

If I had to say one thing, I'd say you're going a bit too far. Bring it all back a tad and focus on keeping detail in the image. Our eyes are extremely sensitive to this and it doesn't take much before we can tell... especially once the image is sharpened and printed.

Comment

Thanks for your replies!