First repair

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First repair

First off.. I am a complete newbie at PS and repairing/restoring photos. But, since finding RetouchPro forums I feel I am learning from the members here.

The attached photo is my very first repair job. I would like the members here to tell me what I did right... and mostly.. what I did wrong.

This photo did not have much to repair. The original photo is a glossy print and it was scrubbed all over, and had a couple small cracks. Most of what I did with this photo was with the stamp tool and unsharp mask... nothing as fantastic as what most of you are doing here.

Michael.
    Attached Files

This is the Original Picture.

Michael_M
    Attached Files

Comment

Michael:

That's pretty darn good for your first attempt!

I do see, however, that the shadow areas (blacks) have been pretty much stripped of detail. That's usually due to overly agressive use of levels or curves. Also, there appear to be some diagonal creases still going across the middle. Those might be powerlines, though (hard to tell).
      Learn by teaching
      Take responsibility for learning

Comment

Thanks Doug. Your critique means a lot to me.

What would you have done with this photo? (aside from repairing the cracks and marks, that is.)

Michael.

Comment

It appears (from analysing your original) that some tonal pre-adjustment was made by your scanner. I normally turn everything "automatic" I can locate off on my scanner. The histogram from a good scan should have distinct tails on both ends, indicating that you've captured the entire range. Not too big of tails, though, which would indicate too much compression of the tones that are there. I also scan in 16bit mode, to grab whatever tiny detail and tonality I can. I do as many adjustments as I can in 16bit mode before switching to 8bit. I usually also scan at 600ppi. Anything more than that is really a waste of file space, at least from paper originals.