What do you think of my retouching?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do you think of my retouching?

I work in the digital production field, working for a high end portrait studio. I am looking to fine tune some of my skills. I also would like to start doing some freelance work for professional photographers.
    I am still struggling with knowing how far to go on some images and how to find clients.

Just so that you know, all work is color corrected first by the photographer I am currently working with and then I do spot color correction.

I'm really excited to know what you think!
    Attached Files

Hi SarahHevelin,

Welcome to RP!

I think your corrections are very natural looking and very well done!!!

P.S. I just moved your Thread to the 'Critiques' Forum as here it will get the attention you wish ....

Comment

Hi Sarah, nice work. I have a slight problem with the first image, as in my opinion you have lost all the skin texture of the girl. This can be replaced by overlaying a copy of the original on the finished image, then adjusting the opacity of that layer till the texture you want appears. (Her original skin was far too textured for a finished image.) Finally, erase parts of layer where you don't want texture from original. My dislike of smoothed out skin is a personal call, and many here will not agree with me.

I know that her chin does not have texture and there is a change in tone, this is due to your original post having a discrepancy between before and after image sizes. Also, I have emphasised the skin texture to illustrate the technique. For a finished image I would tone down the opacity a bit more.
      Attached Files

Comment

Thanks for the good feedback. I am going to look at the chin closer to see if I can start to visualize and fix what you are seeing.