help with color change...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help with color change...

First I would like to say hello to everyone on the group. This is my first time posting here. I have been lurking for a few weeks.

I've just shot a wedding in which the mother of the Bride asked if I could change the color of the curtains over the baptismal area. On a scale of one to ten, I'm about a 3 or 4 knowing everything about Photoshop. So much to learn and so little time.

I tried doing this by using the wand and picking a 42 on tolerance. After that I'm lost because I need to sample a color on the bridemaids dress (in a seperate picture) to use on the curtains.

Can someone please step me throught this? Once I figure this out, I have about 12-15 pictures I need to do this with.

Here is a test shot of the curtains and below is a sample of the dress color I would like to change the curtains to. (blue/perrywinkle?)

http://www.webdeals.net/test/a.jpg

Dress
    http://www.webdeals.net/test/b.jpg

I will be grateful for any help.

Dan browning

Well, as you'll see from the attachment here, I don't know if you really want the colors to be matched It looks a bit odd (although it looked excellent until I matched the luminosity, I'll mention where).

Also, this attachment is very rough, I spent maybe 3 minutes on it.

1. Open both images
    2. In the curtain image, use Select > Color Range to select the curtains. Hold down the shift key and drag around on it to get the entire range of reds. Adjust fuzziness to suit.
    3. Make a new layer, set blend mode to color
    4. Switch to dress image. I blurred it a bit to smooth out color, then used 5x5 eyedropper to sample dress
    5. Go back to curtain and use Edit > Fill > Foreground color
    (this is where I'd stop, it looked pretty good with this color)
    6. Ctrl click on the fill layer to make a selection based on that transparency