Need help with photo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help with photo

I have no idea where to begin fixing the attached photo. It is one of only a few that I have of my grandfather.
    Attached Files

aqx99,
    I gave your photo a go, but please remember I am fairly new to retouching. I am sure you will get some very good advice from people who have much more experience than I do.
    Glad you posted it, I had fun trying different techniques.
    kathy

I'm sorry, I meant to try to explain what I did. I duplicated your image and took the move tool, and using the arrow keys, I nudged it over a few pixels to help eleminate the pattern. Made it look blurred so I duplicated the background again,layed it on top of those layers and played with the different blend modes and opacity until I got something clearer. I can't remember all the steps, but I did flatten and kept overlaying the result. Then sharpened and cloned.
    k
    Attached Files
    Last edited by mead; 08-12-2004, 07:16 PM.

Comment

Wow that's quite the texture to work with. I don't have time to work with the image now, but I did run it through Neat Image (they have a free demo program you might like to try). I set the mode to remove all noise and tweaked the settings to bring back some detail.

Steps to help you get started:

1. Remove texture. Some scanners have settings to help with this, and there are several plug-in programs out there. I used the free Neat Image demo. You can also experiment with PhotoShop's despeckle, median filter, dust & scratches or guassian blur filters.

2. Correct Color with Levels, Curves or Selective Color Adjustment layers

3. Remove blemishes, spots, creases and so on with healing brush or clone brush

4. Apply USM (unsharp mask filter) or High Pass Filter to sharpen the lost detail

Tutorials:
      Attached Files
      Last edited by T Paul; 08-13-2004, 08:47 AM.

Comment

How To Remove Moire Patterns