Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Looking for methods of pulling the hair from the background...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for methods of pulling the hair from the background...

Hi. I am a newbie at photo restoration, but I have the time and desire to learn it. I have a photo that I have been fiddling with for awhile and I really can't get decent results. I am trying to locate where the hair stops and the background begins in the attached photo.

I am using Photoshop CS, most current version, with an optical mouse (I have a Wacom pen on order).

Any direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Gary
    Attached Files

Gary,

Here are the steps I took with your picture. I will try to explain my methods as best I can.

1. Duplicated the background layer (never work on the background layer)
    2. I took a look at the Channels and noticed the Red channel does not have
    much detail left in it.
    3. I selected a Levels Adjustment Layer and brought the right and left triangles so that they "touch" their respective edges of the Histogram
    4. I selected a Channel Mixer Adjustment Layer. Checked monochrome
    and in each channel made changes R-25, G-35, B-40
    5. I selected a Curves Adjustment Layer and made a nice, little, "S" Curve
    It improved the contrast and tone.
    6. I Merged Visible, but kept the layers intact. Flora has a nice action for this in the Actions section of this site.
    7. To the Merged Visible Layer a applied Neat Image at 45%
    8. I added an Empty Layer, (Layer>New Layer), and changed the blending
    mode to Softlight and with a soft, black brush at 10-20% opacity painted
    over the shadows, lips, eyes, any hair I could see.
    9. I aded another Empty Layer and used the Clone Stamp Tool and the Healing Brush Tool to clean up the image.