Help with colorizing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with colorizing

Hi, I am restoring a photo of my uncle when he was a child, and I have pretty much got the major problems with the photo corrected, but now I would like to colorize the image. I have never done any coloring before, so this is all new to me. The technique I have been trying was using the regular paint brush on a seperate layer set to "color" blending mode. This seems to work pretty well for the most part, but does anyone have any better suggestions?
    My main problem areas are the "fuzzy edges" stuff like the hair, and the dirt/grass. What would be the best way to approach this?
    Attached Files

Originally posted by Zarxrax
    Hi, I am restoring a photo of my uncle when he was a child, and I have pretty much got the major problems with the photo corrected, but now I would like to colorize the image. I have never done any coloring before, so this is all new to me. The technique I have been trying was using the regular paint brush on a seperate layer set to "color" blending mode. This seems to work pretty well for the most part, but does anyone have any better suggestions?
    My main problem areas are the "fuzzy edges" stuff like the hair, and the dirt/grass. What would be the best way to approach this?

You can conduct a Search for "colorizing" on this website and see what others have done and said on the subject.

Probably the best colorizer in this forum is Vikki -- here is a link to one of her posts with a couple of recommendations (using a sepia layer, and visiting Worth1000's website to use a tutorial based there)
    http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/sho...91&postcount=5

Click on the link to her PBase gallery to see the high quality of her colorizing work -- then try to mimic her results.