Clear All

• my 2nd try !! (Newfy ~dog)

Hi everyone
    heres my 2nd try using painter..
    Thanks for looking and any advice LOL be gentle LOL

Cazzie
    Attached Files

Re: my 2nd try !! (Newfy ~dog)

Looks fantastic to me Cazzie and welcome to our little corner.

Comment

cazzie I still like the work you have done on your dog but i dont think the background is right still, ( and no i am no expert on that subject i struggle with backgrounds as well )

Palms

Comment

I'm not an expert either, but at least to me, some of the ends of the fur appear feather-like. Otherwise, I like what you have done.
        Attached Files

Comment

Just came across these painter tutorials...

http://craigstutorials.com/blog/

Free.

Take a look... some pretty good stuff.

Comment

C:

I offer the attached interpretation as "food for thought," not as criticism of your effort. To be very truthful your first two tries at Painter are way, way better than mine were -- by a loooooong shot. The intent here is to give you a visual "something to chew on" for future reference.

Whether you like my style or not, ask yourself, "In what ways does this not look like a photo?" (or "In what ways does it look painted?") Hints: Color, detail, implied texture, it ain't "perfect" (photo-realistic), not every square inch (or cm) is covered in (digital) paint.

Nice job of isolating the subject; that's a good step forward. I'd suggest breaking up the background a bit so it's not solid. Perhaps "rough things up a bit" (over doing it with Unsharp Mask works well in this regard). Add some colors that aren't part of the original photo.