PS Book Recommendations Please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PS Book Recommendations Please

Ordered PS7 15 min ago, it's on the way.

Meanwhile, please any reccommendations for a good thorough book would be most appreciated.

My main interest is in photo retouching, restoration and painting.

I'm not intersested in a very beginning book like the dummy series, I have some experience with paintshop already, and am familiar with the basic concepts.

I'm really quite excited.

Thank you in advance.

(Iwon't be able to reply for about a day and a half).

Photoshop Restoration & Retouching by Katrin Eismann is the best photoshop book I've seen so far, it's a really excellent book, I learned a lot from it.

- David

Comment

David and Chuck have mentioned the best books out there IMHO but I want to mention two more that I find useful.

The first is Photoshop 6 (or 7) in an instant - it's only $15 US and it's all pictures with arrows pointing to what button to push and where to find the particular control - you might dismiss it as a "dummies" book, but I kept it in the "library" for a couple of weeks and scanned through it and learned a lot - photoshop is a lot more fun when you don't have to read EVERY menu every time you want to do something.

The other book that I refer to a lot is the manual that comes with Photoshop (it's in the edu version too).

..... and then after you've spent your children's inheritance on all the books, you'll find out that THIS forum is the best way to learn......

Take care, Margaret

Comment

Katrin's restoration book is the best I have found as yet for restoration and retouching.

If you are after something more art orientated then this one might be of interest

The Art of Photoshop by David Giordan

There are some very useful techniques in it that could help with your overall experience of photoshop as well as some good ideas about how far photoshop can be used as an expressive tool.