Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Red Woman: Hue/Saturation?

Hello,

I am brand new to Photo Art and am excited to start tinkering with my photos to make them more artful. I found the myjanee.com tutorials and I am working through those at the moment.

I want to learn Photo Art as a basis for designing club-type fliers and posters.

I was wondering how I could go about achieving this look:
    http://www.flyercity.com/cache/flyer...0225104926.jpg

Would it just be a matter of playing with a Hue/Saturation level on the image, or has something else been done to make this reddish in color?

Thanks for any tips you can give.

Natalie

Hi Natalie,

I don't know the 'official' way of doing this technique - there is probably a filter that does it in an automated way ... I gave it a quick try and this is what I did ...

-converted to b&w
    -Increased contrast with curve (image on left with curve in middle)
    -Added Solid color layer, changed blending mode to color

The only reason I think they might be using this method is that there is a lot of color in the light areas. Could also be done with colorize checked in Hue/Saturation ...

To match look you could add some blur then add noise / grain.

Good luck,
    Roger
    Attached Files

Comment

I agree with Roger. Mostly you need to experiment until you get the look you like. I would suggest using Simplifier plugins and actions, colorizing and adding noise. Here's a different effect.

Cheers
      Duv
      Attached Files

Comment

Image:Adjust:Posterize

We use it a lot for screened in background images on posters and stuff.

Comment

No idea how they did it back then, but I just posterized (4 tones), applied red multiply layer, then put the whole thing over a pinkish layer and applied a layer mask.
          Attached Files
          Learn by teaching
          Take responsibility for learning

Comment

Thanks for all those suggestions!