Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Combining (fading) one image into another: Can anyone tell me how...?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Combining (fading) one image into another: Can anyone tell me how...?

Hello everyone,

though I have been an artist for years I have never really used photo shop or what not. there is an image located in the french photofiltre website located
    http://photofiltre.free.fr/galerie/img006_en.htm and I want to be able to accomplish something similar using my own photos and created art and graphics. I just dont know where to look for the hows and why's
    I own mostly out dated versions

ps 5.5
    psp 7.0
    elements 2.0
    photofiltre current version
    and a few others. maybe someone can get me started looking in the right direction

Marcus

Try a Layer Mask

On the bottom layer you would put a beach scene.

Add a layer on top of that and to that layer add the portrait photo.

To the portrait layer add a layer mask

Select default colors black and white

Use a gradient on the mask and have the gradient go from white where the portrait is to black over the right side of the photo.
    Attached Files

Comment

Re: new, can anyone tell me how...?

I used Photoshop 7 to create this.

The following is a very quick example done to illustrate the technique used, not to be considered as a finished picture.
      • Open the 2 pictures you wish to use.
      • Copy and Paste one as a layer into the other picture.
      • Apply a layer mask to the upper layer (picture).
      • Click on mask to make it active, then use Gradient Tool to make a suitable mask.

I used a radial gradient in this picture, but vary the gradient to get the effect you wish for.

If anything is not clear, and you need further clarification, let me know.

Looks like Phil beat me to the punch.
      Attached Files

Comment

Originally posted by wildthing
        Hello everyone,