This photo is in dire need of help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• This photo is in dire need of help

This is a photo of my Dad and a friend taken in the late 40's or early 50's. I have been messing with it but as a WIP it is pretty lame as I am still learning PS CS3.I thought perhaps someone would take a look at it and see what can be done with it.
    Attached Files

Re: This photo is in dire need of help

I would recommend that you post the result of your efforts.
    Then the members here will give you all kinds of advice on how to proceed.

Originally posted by commosgt68 View Post
    This is a photo of my Dad and a friend taken in the late 40's or early 50's. I have been messing with it but as a WIP it is pretty lame as I am still learning Photoshop CS3.I thought perhaps someone would take a look at it and see what can be done with it.

Comment

Originally posted by Frank Lopes View Post
      I would recommend that you post the result of your efforts.
      Then the members here will give you all kinds of advice on how to proceed.
      Excellent idea, I will post my WIP and see how I have done so far.
      Attached Files

Comment

are those color variation on the original photo? (at the creases)

if not then i would re scan the image and try to flatten it as much as you can.
        to get rid of the blue color at the creases.
        it will make it easier to retouch/restore

Comment

Try this tutorial "Restoring an old photograph" then post another WIP

Comment

Assuming your second picture is your WIP, it appears that you are tackling the cracks and discoloration before correcting the tonality of the image. Looking back at the original, there is good detail and contrast that can be corrected right off the bat. Lood at the tutorials referenced by the others and correct your tonality. Once that is complete, go after the cracks, etc using techniques you can find in various other tutorials on this site.